top of page

Jackson Dyer

Jackson Dyer first arrived in Berlin, his newfound home, just over three years ago. The vibrant city has offered the Australian Singer-Songwriter and producer an array of opportunities, where he has progressed from playing his Indie/Folk and Soul infused songs on the streets to sharing the stage with the likes of Grammy-nominated acts Hozier and Hiatus Kaiyote.

Over the last few years Dyer has toured extensively throughout Europe in support of Berlin’s Indie/Folk outfit Mighty Oaks, performed to over 3000 people in Munich as the opening act for Jamie Cullum and played at a host of European festivals. On 21 October, Dyer is set to release his new EP ‘Compartments’, a body of work that represents many hours of work and soul-searching: ‘Compartments’ is an EP of self-reflection that I wrote at a time when I faced a lot of uncertainty and questions about my place in the world. Far away from home, often spending long hours in my studio, it was a period of introspection when I experimented with production and songwriting. In this space, I wrestled with many of my misgivings about the music industry, the nature of humanity and my own personal motivations.

The title ‘Compartments’ refers to the lyrics in ‘Pariahs’, which is about how close many people live to each other in cities and apartment blocks, but still lead very enclosed lives, unwilling to engage with even their neighbours. Ironically, I spent a long time in my own ‘Compartment’ writing these songs and it wasn’t until I collaborated with others that they really came alive. His new body of work reflects this progression, with his singles ‘Steal Away’, ‘The Absolute’ and ‘Projection, Abstraction’ gaining a lot of attention for their spacious production and evocative lyricism:

• "Lovely. Just Lovely" -​ Dom Alessio, JJJ Radio (the Absolute) • “...a beautiful track to get lost in." Indieshuffle (Steal Away) • “...this track feels like that familiar favourite spot we all go by ourselves to find comfort.” -​ Stereofox (Projection, Abstraction)

Follow Jackson Dyer:

bottom of page